May 10, 2021

Central American Cup 2014 to open in Washington, D.C. with triple-header

Pin It

logo copa centramericanaRegional championship heads to RFK Stadium on September 3

GUATEMALA CITY, Guatemala (Saturday, June 7, 2014) – The Central American Football Union (UNCAF) announced today that the Central American Cup USA 2014 will open with a triple-header at Robert F. Kennedy Stadium in Washington, D.C., on Wednesday, September 3.

The Central American Cup is the region’s championship for national teams, which will also serve as a qualifying competition for the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup and, on this occasion, the Centennial Cup America 2016.

Historic RFK Stadium is long-time home to D.C. United of Major League Soccer and served as a venue for the 1994 FIFA World Cup, as well as the CONCACAF Gold Cup in 2009 and 2011. The stadium has also hosted the National Football League and Major League Baseball, plus numerous international soccer events.

UNCAF’s seven member associations – Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Panama – will dispute the 13th edition of the Central American Cup in cities across the United States from September 3-13, 2014.

In addition to providing a series of berths in important international tournaments, the Central American Cup USA 2014 will be held in celebration of UNCAF’s upcoming 25th anniversary.

The Central American Cup has been contested 12 times, beginning in 1991. Costa Rica is the current champion and has been crowned a record seven times. Honduras is next with three titles, while Guatemala and Panama have won one each.

The tournament’s Final will be held at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum on September 13. Further venue announcements and information about groups and scheduling will be released in the coming weeks. The new Central American Cup logo was unveiled on May 27 and can be downloaded by clicking here.

The Organizing Committee for the Central American Cup USA 2014 is headed by CONCACAF and Soccer United Marketing. Tickets for the Central American Cup will go on sale in July.

The sponsorship rights are being managed jointly by Imagina USA and Traffic USA.



CONCACAF — the Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football — is one of six continental confederations of FIFA (Fédération Internationale de Football Association) and serves as the governing body of football in this part of the world. It is comprised of 41 national associations, from Canada in the north to Guyana, Surinam and French Guyana in the south.


The Central American Football Union is one of the three regions that comprises CONCACAF (the Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football), and serves as the administrative body for football in Central America. It includes seven national associations: Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Panama.

About Soccer United Marketing

Founded in 2002, Soccer United Marketing (SUM) is the preeminent soccer business company in North America. SUM holds the exclusive rights to the most important soccer properties in the region, including: all commercial rights to Major League Soccer; the United States Soccer Federation; promotional and marketing rights to Mexican National Team games played in the United States, and the CONCACAF Gold Cup™. SUM also manages promotional and marketing rights in the United States for Mexico’s most popular sports team, Club Deportivo Guadalajara (Chivas).

In 2009, SUM announced the creation of the MLS Digital Properties, the only soccer advertising network of its kind, covering all facets of the sport in the U.S., and which allows advertisers to reach millions of soccer fans via online advertising and sponsorships campaigns. These global properties are represented by SUM’s slogan: One Sport. One Company. ™ For more information, please visit



Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About ieyenews

Speak Your Mind