iLocal News Archives

Cayman: Red Bay Primary School (RBPS) Declared 2024 Inter-Primary Sports Champion

Red Bay Primary School was declared the winner of the 2024 Inter-Primary Schools Sports Meet held at the Truman Bodden Sports Complex from March 13 to 15. 

The three-day competition, organised by the Department of Education Services (DES) and the Department of Sports (DOS), saw Red Bay amass 376.3 points to edge out the defending champions Prospect Primary School (PPS), who finished with 331 points. Theoline McCoy Primary secured the third-place spot with 261 points.

Throughout the meet, spectators witnessed several exciting moments, including the setting of four new records in newly added Turbo Javelin events.

Mr. Elroy Bryan, Chair of the Local Organising Committee, expressed his delight at the record-breaking event. “With approximately 800 athletes, this is by far our largest meet to date,” Mr. Bryan said. “I was quite impressed with the quality of performances we have witnessed over the past three days and look forward to greater things in the future.”

Sir John A Cumber Primary School’s Aiden Wilson dominated Division Four, claiming the title of division champion and the coveted Victor Ludorum (overall male champion) after victories in the long jump, 100-meter dash, 200-meter dash, and 800-meter run.

This year, the Victrix Ludorum (overall female champion) title was a unique three-way tie. Winners included:

  • Division One champion Tajirah Stewart (80m run, 100m dash, long jump).
  • Division Four champion Hannah Grace Hydes (high jump, 200m run, long jump, 800m run).
  • Division Five champion Daniqua Howell (100m dash, 200m run, high jump).

Other standout athletes included divisional champions Jenecia Powell and Jevon Tulloch (Prospect Primary—Division Two), Akhila Gooden and Jaevion Barrett (Red Bay Primary—Division Three), Nahum Clarke (Prospect Primary—Division One), and Aaron Edie (Prospect Primary—Division Five).

Notable attendees included Premier Juliana O’Connor-Connolly, Acting Deputy Premier, Minister for Tourism & Ports, Hon. Kenneth Bryan, Minister for Youth, Sports and Heritage Issac Rankine, Minister of Border Control & Labour and Culture, Hon. Dwayne Seymour, Mr. Bernie Bush, MoE Acting Chief Officer Ms. Lyneth Monteith, DES Director Mr. Mark Ray and DOS Director Mr. Kurt Hyde. 

Representatives from the DES, DOS and a host of other government and non-government entities also provided invaluable support throughout the competition.

For a complete list of scores, please visit the Cayman Athletics website at


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *