iLocal News Archives

Philbert McFarlane wins Cayman Islands Deputy Governor’s Award 2015-2016

dg-award-097Philbert McFarlane from the Lands and Survey Department has won the Deputy Governor’s Award 2015-2016.

Mr. McFarlane, who is a land registry officer, was selected from the 12 successful finalists of the Cayman Islands Government Employee of the Month, under the Deputy Governor’s Award Programme.

Hosted by Her Excellency the Governor Helen Kilpatrick and Deputy Governor Franz Manderson, the awards ceremony was held at Government House on Wednesday evening (16 November 2016).

Mr. Manderson said his choice for the top award had taken him two days to decide as all the finalists were of such high calibre.

dg-award-125“These 12 civil servants exemplify the best of the civil service and serve as role models for others,” he said. “My vision is to create a world-class civil service and by their example of consistently going the extra mile, they help take the civil service a giant step further towards making this vision a reality. I am extremely proud of them and appreciative of their contribution.”
Mr. McFarlane scooped the prestigious accolade for being “most helpful, pleasant and informative” in his job. He won Cayman Islands Government Employee of the Month in March and was previously recognised as his department’s Employee of the Year in 2007.

Having joined the Lands and Survey Department 28 years ago as a field assistant, Mr. McFarlane was promoted to land registry assistant with customer service duties. He has received many commendations from customers saying they are grateful for the level of care he provides.

This attitude is not limited to Lands and Survey customers and Mr. McFarlane often goes out of his way for clients who have experienced setbacks when dealing with other government departments.

dg-award-135Mr. McFarlane’s caring demeanour leads to customers standing in line waiting for him to tend to them. He can be also counted on to be the first to assist a distraught or demanding client and his empathetic ear allows him to outline clear plans of action to help clients with their needs.

“It is a wonderful surprise to win this award – I can’t believe it,” said Mr. McFarlane. “It is a wonderful feeling – an excellent feeling. I don’t think it can get better than this.”

Lands and Survey Department Director Rupert Vasquez praised Mr. McFarlane for an outstanding commitment to his job and said he was extremely proud of him winning the top award.

Chief Officer in the Portfolio of the Civil Service, Gloria McField-Nixon, who announced the winner, commended all the finalists as representing the outstanding level of customer service to which the civil service aspires.

“The men and women being honoured hail from different backgrounds and areas of professional responsibility,” she said. “However, what they have in common is a demonstrated commitment to make a positive difference in the lives of those they serve, and to inspire those with whom they serve.”

Mr. McFarlane was presented with a plaque and given a $1,000 cheque to mark the occasion.

The full list of finalist was: Tyrone Yen, general records assistant, Cayman Islands National Archive; Richard McLaughlin, station officer, Cayman Islands Fire Service; Temar Clarke, payments & payroll officer, Treasure Department; Travis Walters, statistician, Economics and Statistics Office; Evelyn McTaggart, deputy fund & cash flow manager, Treasure Department; Fisher Wright, lead facilities technician, Facilities Management Department; Curtis Ebanks, auxiliary constable, Royal Cayman Islands Police Service; Derrick Williams, environmental health officer, Department of Environmental Health; Philbert McFarlane, lands registry officer, Lands & Survey Department; Suzzette Stewart, vocational programme coordinator; Sunrise Adult Training Centre; Leonardo Rodriguez, disease prevention officer, Mosquito Research and Control Unit; Kerrilyn Rivers, accounts officer I, Ministry of Financial Services, Commerce and Environment.

Photo caption (Photos: Catherine MacGillivray)
Photo 097: L-r: Deputy Governor Award winner 2015-2016 Philbert McFarlane and Deputy Governor Franz Manderson.
Photo 125: Philbert McFarlane holds his plaque, alongside fellow finalists; Chief of Protocol Meloney Syms (far left), Deputy Governor Franz Manderson (centre) and Chief Officer Gloria McField-Nixon to his left.
Photo 135: L-r: Deputy Governor Franz Manderson, Philbert McFarlane and his wife Joan McFarlane, Lands and Survey Department Director Rupert Vasquez.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *