iLocal News Archives

National Heroes Day 2018

Cayman Islands National Heroes Day celebrations 2018 shine spotlight on sports

A total of 316 honours were bestowed on pioneers in sports at the National Heroes Day 2018 celebrations today (Monday, 22 January).
The annual cultural event took place in Heroes Square, George Town, attended by a host of dignitaries, including His Excellency The Acting Governor Franz Manderson, Cert. Hon, JP., as well as the awardees, their family and friends, and the general public.
There were nine honourees in the “Early Pioneer”, 79 in “Pioneer”, 26 in “Emerging Pioneer” categories; 168 “Long Service Certificates”, and 34 placed on the “Memorial Scroll”.

“My passion for sports runs deep because I believe it teaches discipline and teamwork,” said Premier Hon. Alden McLaughlin, MBE, JP. “I believe that any sporting activity is necessary to not only build character, but to also encourage a healthy lifestyle that contributes to the physical, mental and social well-being of any community, Sport also transcends borders, race, gender and social status. It is a universal language that possesses the power to uplift, entertain and unite us in celebration of the human spirit.”
Mr. McLaughlin hosted the event along with Hon. Juliana O’Connor-Connolly, JP, Minister for Education, Youth, Sports, Agriculture and Lands, and Hon. Dwayne Seymour, JP, Minister for Health, Environment, Culture and Housing.
“A sport is not just a game; it is a means to learn self-control, discipline and dedication,” said Mrs. O’Connor-Connolly. “It teaches us how to rise when we fall, and how to persevere even when the hurdle seems insurmountable.”
Mr. Seymour praised all the awardees, as well the countless others who have contributed to sports over the years.
“I offer my congratulations to every single one of you,” he said. “Whether you are a competitor, coach, committee member, organiser, parent, volunteer, spectator or fan, I know how much time, effort and energy goes into supporting sports in the Cayman Islands.”
The colourful parade to commence the day’s celebrations included the Royal Cayman Islands Police Service (RCIPS) Band, as well as detachments from the RCIPS, the Cayman Islands Fire Service, the Prison Service, Girls Brigade, Scouts, Cadet Corps and Seventh Day Adventist Pathfinders.
Proceedings were opened officially by Speaker of the Legislative Assembly, Hon. McKeeva Bush, OBE, JP, who read the proclamation before the walk-past by pre-school and primary school children waving Cayman Islands flags.
Pastor Garett Haylock, Cert. Hon., said the prayer, while the national anthem was sung by Rudy Myles, Cert. Hon. OMH; and the national song performed by The Williams Quartet. Cayman Islands Folk Singers also gave a cultural performance later in the programme.
Following opening remarks by Mr. McLaughlin, bravery citations were awarded to Alan Mackay, a conservation officer from the Department of Environment, and 16-year-old Beha Hansson from Hope Academy, for their heroism in a drowning tragedy in North Side last year.
The National Heroes Commemoration, honouring the nine national heroes of the Cayman Islands, was delivered by Isaiah Whittaker, Prospect Primary School’s 2017 head boy, and Jamie Ebanks of Clifton Hunter High School. A visual presentation then highlighted great Cayman Islands sporting moments.
Led by Cabinet Secretary Samuel Rose, JP, wreaths were laid in tribute to all of the Cayman Islands’ national heroes and nation builders, after which a moment of silence was observed.
At the end of the proceedings, Mr McLaughlin announced that the National Heroes Day 2019 theme will be maritime heritage, celebrating the Cayman Islands’ great seafaring past.
The awards ceremony was followed by an exhibition in George Town Town Hall, in which a number of the Cayman Islands sports association staged displays and demonstrations. Attendees also enjoyed live entertainment from the Pan n Riddim Steel Jamm Band, and the Regeneration Band, as well as local food.


  1. Pingback: January 2018


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *