October 21, 2020

Improving Eastern Caribbean aviation


Pin It

French Civil Aviation Authority meets with the Eastern Caribbean Civil Aviation Authority and the Commission

Wednesday, June 13, 2018 — Efforts to improve the coordination, safety and efficiency of air travel in the Eastern Caribbean were strengthened following a recent meeting of the French Civil Aviation Authority, the Eastern Caribbean Civil Aviation Authority (ECCAA) and the OECS Commission.

This first official meeting, held at the Embassy of in Castries, Saint Lucia, was chaired by the Ambassador of France to the OECS, H.E. Mr. Philippe Ardanaz and was attended by H.E. Dr. Didacus Jules, of the OECS accompanied by Mr. Dwight Lay, OECS General Counsel; Mr. Donald McPhail, Director General of ECCAA accompanied by Mr. C. Anthony Meade, Director Air Navigation Services and Mr. Sylvester Dardaine, Director Flight Safety; Mr. Federic Guignier, Director of Civil Aviation, French West Indies (DSAC-AG). Also in attendance was Mr. Philippe Seigneurin, Deputy Head of Mission at the Embassy of France.

Parties discussed matters of mutual concern related to civil aviation in the airspace of the Eastern Caribbean and addressed areas of concern requiring quick resolution.

Details of the respective mandates and operations were also discussed in addition to ways of ensuring closer and more effective coordination among member states to enhance the safety, reliability and efficiency of air travel in the air spaces of the Eastern Caribbean – with special reference to the role of the Direction de la securite de l’aviation civile Antilles Guyane (DSAC-AG), based in , in this endeavour.

The meeting concluded with an agreement amongst the parties to establish permanent lines of communication.

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) is an International Organisation dedicated to economic harmonisation and integration, protection of human and legal rights, and the encouragement of good governance among independent and non-independent countries in the Eastern Caribbean. The OECS came into being on June 18th 1981, when seven Eastern Caribbean countries signed a treaty agreeing to cooperate with each other while promoting unity and solidarity among its Members. The Treaty became known as the Treaty of Basseterre, so named in honour of the capital city of St. Kitts and Nevis where it was signed. The OECS today, currently has ten members, spread across the Eastern Caribbean comprising Antigua and Barbuda, Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, British Virgin Islands, Anguilla and Martinique.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About ieyenews

Speak Your Mind