May 26, 2023

Draw reveals Groups for 2020 Concacaf Men’s Olympic Qualifying Championship

Pin It

The competition will qualify two teams to the Men’s Olympic Football Tournament Tokyo 2020

Miami (Thursday, January 9, 2020) – The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (Concacaf) today conducted the official draw for the 2020 Concacaf Men’s Olympic Qualifying Championship, at the Akron Stadium, in Guadalajara, Mexico. 

The event, which featured remarks from Concacaf General Secretary Philippe Moggio and Governor of Jalisco Enrique Alfaro Ramirez, was conducted by Concacaf Director of Competitions Carlos Fernandez, with the assistance of TUDN Host Gina Holguín, Olympic Gold medalist Oribe Peralta and the Head Coach of CD Guadalajara Luis Fernando Tena. 

The groups for the 2020 Concacaf Men’s Olympic Qualifying Championship are as follows:
Group A
: Mexico
A3: Costa Rica
A4: Dominican RepublicGroup B
: Honduras
B2: Canada
B3: El Salvador
B4: Haiti
The 2020 Concacaf Men’s Olympic Qualifying tournament will kick off with an initial group stage between March 20 – 27. After group stage round-robin play, the top two finishers from each group will move on to the semifinals. The semifinal matches, which will determine the two qualified teams to the Olympics, will be played at the Estadio Jalisco, on Monday, March 30. The final match, between the semifinal winners, will be played at the Akron Stadium, on Wednesday, April 1.
The complete 2020 Concacaf Men’s Olympic Qualifying Championship schedule is available here and below. 

Tickets to all matches are available by visiting

Fans will be able to follow all the action through the Confederation’s partner networks, including TUDN (Mexico), One Soccer (Canada), Flow Sports (Caribbean) and other local partners. For other territories, the event will be available on Concacaf GO (subject to territory restrictions).

2020 Concacaf Men’s Olympic Qualifying Tournament

Tournament Dates: March 20 – April 1, 2020

Host Venues: Jalisco Stadium and Akron Stadium, in Guadalajara, Mexico

Participating Teams (listed in alphabetical order): Canada, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico and the United States.

Competition Format: The eight participating teams have been sorted into two groups of four teams. After round-robin play, the first and second place finishers of each group will advance to the semifinals. The semifinal winners will automatically qualify for the tournament’s final, as well as the Men’s Olympic Football Tournament Tokyo 2020.

*Kick off times to be confirmed and order of the matches subject to change 

Friday, March 20, 2020 – Jalisco Stadium
01: USA vs Costa Rica
02: Mexico vs Dominican Republic

Saturday, March 21, 2020 – Jalisco Stadium
03: Canada vs El Salvador
04: Honduras vs Haiti

Monday, March 23, 2020 – Akron Stadium
05: Dominican Republic vs USA
06: Costa Rica vs Mexico 

Tuesday, March 24, 2020 – Akron Stadium
07: Haiti vs Canada
08: El Salvador vs Honduras 

Thursday, March 26, 2020 – Jalisco Stadium
09: Costa Rica vs Dominican Republic
10: Mexico vs USA

Friday, March 27, 2020 – Jalisco Stadium
11: El Salvador vs Haiti
12: Honduras vs Canada

Monday, March 30, 2020 – Jalisco Stadium
13: 1B vs 2A 
14: 1A vs 2B 

Wednesday, April 1, 2020 – Akron Stadium
15: Winner 13 vs Winner 14
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About ieyenews

Speak Your Mind