MEYE NEWS. For all the latest Cayman, Caribbean and International Stories plus cartoons and puzzles. 32 + new blogs daily

Caribbean News Editors Choice Events iBusiness iCommunity iEntertainment iHome iLocal News ISports iTech iWorld News News Sports Fixtures Sports World

Draw delivers groups for 2022/23 Concacaf Nations League presented by Qatar Airways

Group stage to take place on the FIFA Match Windows of June 2022 and March 2023; Finals scheduled for June 2023 Tournament’s group stage to serve as the qualifier for the 2023 Gold CupMiami, FL – Concacaf today conducted the official draw for the second edition of the Concacaf Nations League (CNL). The live event in Miami was hosted by TUDN’s sports anchor Lindsay Casinelli and included the participation of Concacaf President Victor Montagliani and Concacaf General Secretary Philippe Moggio, as well as former players Dante Leverock (Bermuda), Paulo Cesar Wanchope (Costa Rica) and Oribe Peralta (Mexico).

Prior to tonight’s made-for-tv live event, the Confederation’s 41 Member Associations had been divided into three Leagues based on the results of the 2019 CNL Group Stage (this includes a promotion and relegation system between leagues).

The draw results are as follows:

League A
Group A: Mexico, Jamaica, Suriname 
Group B: Costa Rica, Panama, Martinique
Group C: Canada, Honduras, Curaçao
Group D: United States, El Salvador, Grenada 

League B
Group A: Cuba, Guadeloupe, Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados 
Group B: Haiti, Bermuda, Guyana, Monserrat 
Group C: Trinidad & Tobago, Nicaragua, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Bahamas
Group D: Guatemala, French Guiana, Dominican Republic, Belize

League C
Group A: Bonaire, Turks and Caicos Islands, U.S. Virgin Islands, Sint Maarten 
Group B: Saint Kitts and Nevis, Aruba, Saint Martin 
Group C: Saint Lucia, Dominica, Anguilla 
Group D: Puerto Rico, Cayman Islands, British Virgin Islands

The 2022/23 CNL Group Stage will begin with home and away round robin play on the FIFA Match Windows of June 2022 (double window) and March 2023. The Group Stage will be followed by the Concacaf Nations League Finals presented by Qatar Airways (CNLF) in June 2023 played between the four League A group winners.

Concacaf will announce the competition’s schedule in the coming days. Venues and kick off times will be confirmed at a later date. 

2023 Gold Cup Qualification

The 2022/23 CNL Group Stage will continue to serve as the qualifier for the 2023 Gold Cup. Following round robin group stage play, the League A group winners and runners up (eight teams) and the League B group winners (four teams) will guarantee their participation in the 17th edition of the Gold Cup.

Furthermore, 12 other teams will have an opportunity to qualify for the tournament via the Gold Cup Prelims. The Prelims will include the participation of the League A third-place finishers (four teams), the League B second place finishers (four teams), and the League C group winners (four teams). 

Additional details regarding the 2023 Gold Cup Prelims will be announced at a later date.

About the Concacaf Nations League

Concacaf announced the creation of the region’s men’s Nations League in 2018, with the aim of ensuring all Member Associations have the opportunity to compete in more official matches, driving the development of the game and providing a compelling tournament for fans in all parts of the Confederation.

The inaugural CNL kicked off in September 2019 and culminated after one-hundred-and-two memorable group stage matches. The four League A Group winners (Costa Rica, Honduras, Mexico, and USA) took part in the 2021 CNLF in Denver, CO, where Mexico and the United States faced off in an unforgettable Final. An extra time penalty converted by US forward Christian Pulisic proved to be the decisive moment and served as the winning goal in the 3-2 win for the United States, who were crowned as the first CNL champion.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *