October 26, 2020

Concacaf to host 2020 Concacaf Men’s Olympic Qualifying Draw on January 9 in Guadalajara


Pin It

Eight teams will compete for the Confederation’s U-23 title and for the two available spots in the Men’s Olympic Football Tournament Tokyo 2020 

Miami (Friday, November 22, 2019) – The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (Concacaf) today announced that the official draw for the 2020 ’s Olympic Qualifying tournament will take place Thursday, January 9, 2020. The men’s Olympic qualifying competition is scheduled to take place March 20 – April 1, 2020, at the Jalisco and Akron Stadiums in Guadalajara, Mexico.  

The official draw will be conducted live from the Akron Stadium, in Guadalajara, at 7:00 pm local time (8:00 pm ET). The coaches from the participating countries, as well as other guests from the world of football will be present at the event.  

Fans will be able to follow all the action through the Confederation’s partner networks, including TUDN (Mexico), One Soccer (Canada), Flow Sports (Caribbean) and other local partners. For other territories, the event will be available on Concacaf GO (subject to territory restrictions). 

The eight participating teams will be sorted into two groups of four teams. After round-robin play, the first and second place finishers of each group will advance to the semifinals. The semifinal winners will automatically qualify for the tournament’s final, as well as the Men’s Olympic Football Tournament Tokyo 2020. 

The eight participating nations are (in alphabetical order): Canada, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico and the United States. 

On August 21, Concacaf announced that Guadalajara will host the regions men’s Olympic qualifying tournament. The announcement was made at an event held at the at the Hospicio Cabañas, by Concacaf General Secretary Philippe Moggio, Governor of the State of Jalisco Enrique Alfaro Ramirez and Concacaf Vice President and President of the Mexican Football Federation Yon de Luisa.     

Draw Procedures 
The draw will be executed using a single blind system, involving four pots. Pot 1 will contain the names of the two seeded teams, Mexico and Honduras. Mexico will be seeded as the current champions. Honduras will be seeded as the nation that outperformed the six other participating countries in the previous two editions of this competition. 

Pot 2 will contain the names of the other two representatives of North America, Canada and the United States.  The Central American nations Costa Rica and El Salvador will be Pot 3, and the Caribbean representatives, Dominican Republic and Haiti, will be placed in Pot 4.  

The draw will begin by selecting Mexico from Pot 1 and positioning the host nation in position 1, in Group A. Once confirmed, Honduras will be drawn and positioned in Group B, position 1. The same procedure will be followed with pots 2, 3 and 4, always positioning the first randomly drawn team in Group A, followed by the other team in Group B.  

*Kick off times to be confirmed and order of the matches subject to change 

Friday, March 20, 2020  
01: A2 vs A3 
02: Mexico vs A4 

Saturday, March 21, 2020  
03: B2 vs B3 
04: Honduras vs B4 

Monday, March 23, 2020 
05: A4 vs A2 
06: A3 vs Mexico 

Tuesday, March 24, 2020 
07: B4 vs B2 
08: B3 vs Honduras 

Thursday, March 26, 2020 
09: A3 vs A4 
10: Mexico vs A2 

Friday, March 27, 2020 
11: B3 vs B4 
12: Honduras vs B2 

Monday, March 30, 2020 
13: 1B vs 2A 
14: 1A vs 2B 

Wednesday, April 1, 2020 
15: Winner 13 vs Winner 14 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About ieyenews

Speak Your Mind