iLocal News Archives

Cayman Youth Parliamentarians

Government bench 1Youth Parliamentarians Debate Two Motions

Over 20 youth from educational institutions on Cayman Brac and Grand Cayman participated enthusiastically in two debates during the ninth Youth Parliament held today (Monday, 14 March 2016) to commemorate Commonwealth Day.

The topics they chose were legalizing abortion and the establishment of a master public transportation system.

Speakers at the opening ceremony offered words of encouragement and congratulations to the young people for their animated participation, in the months-long preparatory process. Those who spoke included Speaker of the House, Hon. Juliana O’Connor Connolly, MLA who also read out the Commonwealth Message from Her Majesty the Queen; Premier Hon. Alden McLaughlin, MLA; Leader of the Opposition Hon. McKeeva Bush, MLA and Youth Parliament Committee Chair Mr. Alva Suckoo, MLA.

Joining the lead sponsor of this year’s Youth Parliament, law firm Harneys were the other sponsors Conyers Dill and Pearman, Cayman National, Maples, Radio Cayman and GIS Marketing and Communications.

(GIS) Photo captions:

The ninth Youth Parliament participants with the House Speaker, Hon. Juliana O’Connor Connolly (seated centre), Premier Hon. Alden McLaughlin (seated, left), Leader of the Opposition Hon. W. McKeeva Bush (seated, right); Clerk of the Legislative Assembly Mrs. Zena Merren-Chin (standing, first row, first left); Finance Minister Hon. Marco Archer (standing, second row, first left); Youth and Sports Minister Hon. Osbourne Bodden (standing second row, second left) and Organising Committee Chairman Mr. Alva Suckoo (back row, first left).

Led by the Serjeant-at-Arms, Mr. Nathan Whittaker, the Youth Parliament Speaker’s procession enters the LA Chamber.

The Government bench

The Opposition bench
Youth Parliament Speaker Hon. Jared McGill and Clerk Ms Tiona Miller listen to the morning’s debate on the topic of legalising abortion.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *