iLocal News Archives

Cayman Parliament To Sit For Fourth Meeting Beginning 24th June

Hon McLaughlin Speaker 3rd Meeting 2023-2024.JPG”: Hon. Sir Alden McLaughlin, KCMG, MBE, KC, JP, MP, Speaker, during the Third Meeting of the 2023-2024 Session in February 2024.

GEORGE TOWN, 10th May 2024
The Speaker of Parliament, Hon. Sir Alden McLaughlin, has notified Members of Parliament (MPs)
that the Fourth Meeting of the 2023-2024 Session will commence on Monday, 24th June, 2024,
at 10:00 a.m.

The Business Committee will meet on Wednesday, 19th June, in order to confirm the order of
business for the Meeting. As of 9th May, two Business Papers have been sent to the Members
since the previous Meeting in February, for business to be dealt with in the forthcoming Meeting.

On the two business papers circulated to Members so far included the 2023 Supplementary Plan
and Estimates for the Financial Year ended 31 December 2023; two reports from the Office of
the Auditor General; an own-initiation report from the Office of the Ombudsman; two reports
from the Commission for Standards in Public Life; and, a report from the Human Rights

Members have until 5:00 p.m. on 13th June to submit Parliamentary Questions for the Ministers,
Attorney General, and Deputy Governor, and until 5:00 p.m. on 14th June for any Government or
Private Members’ Motions to be filed in the Clerk’s Office. Any new Bills or proposed legislative
amendments must be published in the Gazette by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, 24th May in order to be
eligible for consideration at the Fourth Meeting, in accordance with Section 77 (2) of the Cayman
Islands Constitution Order (2009) as amended in 2020. House documents will be made available
on the Parliament’s website at

The proceedings can be accessed live on the Cayman Islands Government’s YouTube channel,
CIGTV, and Radio Cayman. The public are also welcome to view the proceedings live from the
public gallery at the House of Parliament after signing-in with Security.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *