iLocal News Archives

Cayman Islands Stingray Awards winners announced

1 All awardees with cita president exec director deputy premier councilor hew and mcs gaetan and tammiThe Cayman Islands Tourism Association (CITA) was pleased to host the prestigious, 12th Annual Cayman Stingray Tourism Awards at the Ritz-Carlton on June 23, 2015. This event is dedicated to recognizing and honouring the hard working men and women of the tourism industry here in the Cayman Islands. CITA provides an opportunity to honour those who go above and beyond their call of duty and let them know how much their efforts are appreciated. The best of the best gathered together to commend those that have excelled in the hospitality and tourism industry, and last night’s packed house was a reflection of how important this industry is to our Islands. The event welcomed a broad array of individuals from all sectors of Cayman’s tourism industry including Accommodations, Allied, Attractions and Transportation, Restaurants and Watersports. The awards were also graced with several government dignitaries including the Honourable Moses Kirkconnell., Councillor of Tourism Mr. Joseph Hew, Chief Officer for the Ministry of District Administration, Tourism & Transport Mr. Stran Bodden, as well as Mrs. Rosa Harris, Director of the Department of Tourism.

The evening began with a beautiful presentation of the National Song performed by Ms. Shameka Clarke followed by a blessing of the meal by Mr. Tim Adam, Cayman Islands Tourism Associations’ Board of Directors Secretary. The band Suite Elite played throughout the night adding their special talent to the excitement of the show, with Mr. Earl La Pierre on the Steel Pan, opening for the Welcome Reception. On stage was Gaetan Babin, Resort Director of the Wyndham Reef Resort and Board Member of CITA, and local TV personality Tammi Sulliman, who were the Master and Mistress of Ceremonies for the evening. The Keynote Speakers for the evening were Councillor, Joseph Hew from the Ministry of Tourism and the always stunning Miss Cayman Islands 2015, Tonie Chisholm. Both speakers touched on important issues involving tourism and Miss Tonie Chisholm noted the value of hard work and organizational skills, and the importance of team work that can be gained from a career in hospitality.

During the ceremony, over 50 nominees were presented with certificates by the Executive Committee of the CITA Board of Directors and Mr. Ken Hydes, President of CITA, who presented the beautiful glass Stingray Awards to the winners. Clemens Guettler, the 2014 Lifetime Achievement Award recipient, presented the Restaurant certificates to nominees and Katherine Tatum, Cayman Islands Tourism Ambassador, presented the Rising Star nominees certificates. Locksley Haylock of The Westin presented the Rising Star Award and the Honourable Moses Kirkconnell presented several awards including the Long Service Award and Lifetime Achievement Award.

With so many talented nominees bringing something uniquely impressive to the table, the Nominations Committee had a difficult task determining the 2015 winners in each category. Below are the winners who were decided upon after serious consideration:

The winners of the 2015 Cayman Stingray Tourism Awards are as follows:


Manager — Shelly Ann Myrie — Silver Rain a La Prairie Spa at The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman

Employee — Fernando Yorke — Southern Cross Club


Manager — Joelle McCrae — Cayman Turtle Farm

Employee — Damion Francis — Majestic Tours


Manager — Carol Boulton — Rum Point Club

Employee — Juliet Bucknal — Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort


Manager — Sarah-Jane Whitehill — Red Sail Sports

Employee — Tony Chisholm — Seasports Diving

Long Service — Sadie Chollette — Plantana Condominiums

Rising Star — Sarah Hydes — Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort

Lifetime Achievement Award: Norberg Kelvin Thompson, Jr. — The Wyndham

Reef Resort/Century 21

CITA’s president Mr. Kenneth Hydes gave the welcoming remarks for the occasion. He mentioned that in his third year of being President of CITA, he is committed to praising the excellent service of the people within the Cayman Island’s hospitality industry. He further outlined that it is the excellent service of the people of these Islands who have encouraged repeat visitors and ensured consistent growth in arrivals.

CITA appreciates all of the support and contributions made to make this event possible especially: The Westin Grand Cayman Beach Resort for their Welcome Reception Sponsorship, The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman for their Venue Sponsorship, Health City Cayman Islands for their General Sponsorship as well as Consolidated Water for sponsoring the Chocolate Creation chocolate stingray gifts given to all guests. Special thanks were bestowed as well to Premier Wines and Spirits, Whiskey Mist and Creations Unlimited for event photography. The CITA acknowledges the superb service of the Events team and AV individuals at the Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, outlining that their hard work and efforts made for an unforgettable night. CITA also expressed thanks to the Celebrations Ltd team who provided the gorgeous Bubble Wall backdrop for the evening bringing together the underwater feel and ambience of the event. The CITA would like to thank Gaetan Babin and Tammi Sulliman for their time and efforts as the gracious and entertaining MC’s for the event. Entertainers for the evening included Earl La Pierre on the Steel Pan during the Welcome Reception, and Suite Elite band.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *