August 10, 2020

Cayman Islands Government of National Unity formed


Pin It

Statement from the Governor

“This afternoon I met with elected representatives Honourable Alden McLaughlin, Jr, MBE, Honourable McKeeva Bush, OBE, , JP, Mr Austin Harris and Captain Eugene Ebanks.  Mr McLaughlin provided me with evidence that he had sufficient support to form a “Government of National Unity”.

Accordingly, I have signed the proclamation to a call a session of the for 10:00am Wednesday, 31st May 2017 for the purposes of swearing in all newly elected and appointed Members of the Legislative Assembly, voting for a Premier pursuant to section 49 (3) of the Constitution of the Cayman Islands, and other attendant matters.  Mr McLaughlin has indicated that he will be seeking election to the position of Premier and to Speaker of the House.”



Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About ieyenews

Speak Your Mind