September 22, 2021

Caribbean venues confirmed for 2018 Women’s World Twenty20

Pin It

By: Elena Holmes From Sports Pro Media

ICC names Antigua and Barbuda, Guyana and St Lucia as hosts for inaugural standalone competition.

Caribbean venues confirmed for 2018 Women’s World Twenty20

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced that Antigua and Barbuda, Guyana and St Lucia will be the venues for the 2018 Women’s World Twenty20.

The tournament, which will be staged from 9th to 24th November, will be the first edition to be held on a standalone basis. The past six competitions have run alongside the men’s event.

The three hosts were selected by Cricket West Indies through a bidding process that was then ratified by the ICC.

Afghanistan Cricket Board launches new T20 league

The preliminary round matches will be held at the Guyana National Stadium and Darren Sammy Stadium in St Lucia, with Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua and Barbuda to stage the two semi-finals and the final.

The Caribbean hosted the ICC Cricket World Cup in 2007 and staged the ICC World Twenty20 in 2010.

Jennifer Nero, tournament director of the ICC Women’s World Twenty20, said: “We are excited to be hosting the very first standalone ICC Women’s World T20. This will add to the established passion for women’s cricket throughout our region. This is significant not just for the advancement of the sport of cricket but also for the potential for sharing with the world the many irresistible offerings of the beautiful countries of the West Indies.”

David Richardson, chief executive of the ICC, added: “We are keen to build on the momentum from this summer’s Women’s World Cup and I’m sure the players can rely on a warm welcome from the legendary cricket fans in the West Indies and we’re all in for a great experience in the Caribbean.”

The West Indies will be defending the title they won with an eight-wicket victory over Australia in Kolkata in 2016 on home soil, and will be joined by Australia, world 50-over champions England, New Zealand, India, Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka. The remaining two places will be decided during the Women’s World Twenty20 qualifier in the Netherlands from 3rd to 14th July.

For more on this story go to:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About ieyenews

Speak Your Mind