December 3, 2022

2018 Scotiabank Concacaf League Matches and 2018 Central America Women’s Qualifier to be played outside of Nicaragua

Pin It

From Concacaf

Matches originally scheduled to take place in Nicaragua will be relocated to alternate venues

Miami (Wednesday, June 6, 2018) – The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (Concacaf) announced today that based on ongoing security concerns in Nicaragua, its Council has decided to move the Scotiabank Concacaf League round of 16 home matches of CD Walter Ferretti and Diriangen FC, as well as the 2018 Central America Women’s Qualifier to venues outside of Nicaragua.

The decision by the Concacaf Council was made following an extensive security assessment, which included an independent third-party report of the country’s sociopolitical landscape in recent months and in accordance with section XVII. A. of the Scotiabank Concacaf League Regulations and section 31. of the Concacaf Women’s Championship Regulations.

Nicaraguan clubs CD Walter Ferretti and Diriangen FC will be required to submit a proposal of alternate venues for their home matches versus Club Franciscain (MTQ) and Club Deportivo Universitario (PAN) respectively. The alternate venues selected by the clubs will need to undergo a separate approval process by Concacaf. Should either Nicaraguan club advance to the quarterfinals, those matches would also need to be played outside Nicaragua and those venues will be announced by Concacaf in due course.

The 2018 Scotiabank Concacaf League first leg matches of the round of 16 are scheduled to be played from July 31 – August 2, followed by the second leg matches the following week. In total, the region’s newest club competition will include the participation of clubs from eight countries in Central America and the Caribbean.

The 2018 Central America Women’s Qualifier will now take place August 29 – September 2, 2018 in a venue to be confirmed. The host country, as well as the new match schedule for the women’s regional qualifier will be announced in the coming weeks. The top two finishers of the qualifiers will advance to the 2018 Concacaf Women’s Championship.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About ieyenews

Speak Your Mind