January 24, 2020

Cayman’s equestrians


Pin It

Annual banquet awards Cayman’s equestrians

The Equestrian Federation () held its fourth annual awards banquet on Saturday 24 June.

During the horse show season in the Cayman Islands, which runs from September to June, the CIEF holds four and four that lead up to the annual Awards Dinner.

Using the top three results that riders achieve in these shows in their respective categories, a Champion and Reserve Champion is named. This year’s dressage winners include returning champions Jessica McTaggart-Giuzio and Tracey Surrey, and newcomers to the podium, Jardae Barnes, Amber McMillan, Lara Humphries, Stephanie Lloyd, Abbey Swartz and Jodie McTaggart. In the jumping series, Kayla Godwin returns to the champions ring, with Leah Alberga, Olivia Kluyver and Abbey Swartz also collecting championship rosettes.


Full results as follows:


Category Rider Horse Champion & Reserve

Introductory Level – Junior Jardae Barnes Austin Champion

Olivia Kluyver Shirley Temple Reserve Champion

Introductory Level – Adult Amber McMillan Joe Champion

Stephanie Lloyd Princess Reserve Champion

Training Level – Junior Lara Humphries Storm Champion

Megan Swartz Zeus Reserve Champion

Training Level – Adults Stephanie Lloyd Lilly Champion

Jessica McTaggart-Giuzio Moon Lady Reserve Champion

Preliminary Level- Junior Abbey Swartz Blue Ridge Dream On Champion

Preliminary Level – Adult Tracey Surrey Dusty Champion

Anja van Genderen Joey Reserve Champion

Elementary Level – Adult Tracey Surrey Dusty Champion

Anja van Genderen Joey Reserve Champion

Medium Level Jessica McTaggart-Giuzio Loris 7 Champion

Advanced Level Jodie McTaggart Ray of Light Champion


Category Rider Champion & Reserve

0.6m Ponies Leah Alberga Champion

Eva Muspratt Reserve Champion

0.6m Horses Olivia Kluyver Champion

Freya Timms Reserve Champion (tie)

Jardae Barnes Reserve Champion (tie)

0.7m Ponies Marleigh Smith Champion

Megan Swartz Reserve Champion

0.7m Horses Olivia Kluyver Champion

Freya Timms Reserve Champion

0.80m Ponies Abbey Swartz Champion

0.80m Horses Kayla Godwin Champion

Stephanie Lloyd Reserve Champion

CIEF President, Eve van den Bol, said of the evening, “Congratulations to all of our riders and a very big thank you to the families, friends and membership who donate their time and assistance to the CIEF, none of this would be possible without you.”

The Cayman Islands Equestrian Federation, a volunteer organization that hosts competition events throughout the year, also arranges for an equine veterinary doctor to visit the island regularly, organizes visiting clinicians and show judges, supports riders who are representing the Cayman Islands overseas, and works to improve the welfare of horses on the island.

In addition to celebrating the achievements of its riders during the 2016/17 show season, there was a raffle and tombola to raise funds for the upcoming year.

The current CIEF Board of Directors includes Eve van den Bol (President), Tanya Neville-Dickson (Vice President), Sharon Hinds (Secretary General) Wendy Mannisto (Treasurer) and Caroline Key (Director). Sharon Hinds stepped down from the role of President earlier this year. Ms Hinds had previously been in the role 3 years, the maximum time allowed under the bye-laws, and has been an active Board Member since 2002.

Under Sharon’s leadership the CIEF has had many accomplishments, including working with the Veterinary Board to secure quality equine vet care on island, and solidifying both our National Jumping and Dressage Series. Her service to equestrian sport on the island has been both commendable and invaluable,” said Ms van den Bol.

The upcoming show season will run from September 2017 to June 2018.

Please visit the CIEF website at www.ciefcay.com for more information.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About ieyenews

Speak Your Mind