March 25, 2023

Triple C’s Under 18 Boys’ Soccer Team makes Cayman Islands history

Pin It

On Friday, February 10th, Triple C’s Under-18 boys’ soccer team won the annual Private School Association (PSA) soccer tournament that was held at the Cayman International School field in Camana Bay. The team also was the winners of the PSA league. The PSA Under-18 league runs for 14 weeks and wraps up with a one day tournament as a grand finale. The league is supported by the private schools on the island. Triple C’s team won all their games at the February 10th tournament and as they got close to their first tournament victory they went into the semi-finals against Cayman Academy determined, which resulted with their 7-0 win. They then sealed their victory with the nail biting “Finale” with St. Ignatius School, winning 3 – 2 to become this year’s champions.

Coach Luis Morejon, a Triple C Parent and coach, said, “My coaching at Triple C school began 9 years ago as a coach for the Under-9 boys soccer team and then expanded over the years to include the under-11, under-15 and under-18 team which I have coached for the last few years.” “Each year of coaching has been special but this year’s PSA win for the under-18 team was emotional and momentous as I’ve never coached a group of soccer players that have worked so well together…they all melted together and played as one. Their touches, passes, goals, saves and defending were amazing! I find it important to always encourage the soccer team members to be involved when it comes to the team success and I encourage this by asking them questions and listening to their answers/suggestions. Each played have their own opinion and suggestion, so their individual voice is critical to the overall team success. They made me, their school, parents and friends very proud.”

Mr. Robert Lankford, Triple C School, Secondary Vice-Principal said, “Congratulations to this year’s under-18 boys football team on making history for Triple C School, during our 75th anniversary year, as well as making history in the PSA for being the first team to win the league and tournament in the same year.


Picture 1: (Top: L-R): Coach Morejon, Justin Ebanks, Devonte Morejon, Jayden Downey, Zion Coe, Kristopher Arch, and Ricardo Wright (Bottom: L-R): Aiden Bartice, Jabari Campbell, Nicholas Chung, Rohelio Wright, Jevon Brown, and Jaeden Rankine
(Missing): Omar Roach, Miguel Benito, Travis Douglas, Liam Monaghan, Zane Powell & Brandon Moore. Picture 2: The Triple C team celebrating their win

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About ieyenews

Speak Your Mind