September 22, 2023

Schedule announced for 2023 SCCL Final between Los Angeles FC and Club Leon

Pin It
Los Angeles FC to host the decisive return leg final on Sunday, June 4 at BMO Stadium, in Los Angeles, CA2023 SCCL Champion qualifies for two FIFA Club World Cups; 2023 edition in December and expanded 32-club tournament in summer 2025.Miami, FL (Thursday, May 4, 2023) – Concacaf has today confirmed the schedule for the Final of the 2023 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League (SCCL). The two-legged series between Los Angeles FC (USA) and Club Leon (MEX) is scheduled for May 31 (first leg) and June 4 (second leg), in Leon and Los Angeles, respectively. 

Los Angeles FC have qualified for the 2023 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League Final after defeating the Philadelphia Union 4-1 on aggregate in the semifinals. LAFC eliminated Alajuelense of Costa Rica in the Round of 16 (4-2) and the Vancouver Whitecaps in the quarterfinals (6-0) prior to their series victory against Philadelphia. It is LAFC’s second time reaching an SCCL Final in just their second SCCL appearance, the first coming in 2020 when they narrowly fell to Tigres, 2-1.

For the first time in the Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League era, Club Leon have reached the Final after eliminating fellow Liga MX side Tigres in the semifinals 4-3 on aggregate. Prior to their semifinal victory, Club Leon defeated Panamanian side Tauro FC in the Round of 16, 3-0, and then Haitian club Violette 6-2 in the quarterfinals.

2023 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League Final Schedule
*Displayed in ET (local time) and home club listed first 

Wednesday, May 31, 2023 – First Leg
10:00 pm (8:00 pm) Club Leon vs. Los Angeles FC – Estadio Leon, Leon, Mexico

Sunday, June 4, 2023 – Second Leg
9:00 pm (6:00 pm) Los Angeles FC vs Club Leon – BMO Stadium, Los Angeles, CA, USA

The Finals will be widely available for fans across the region to follow and enjoy through the Confederation’s TV partner networks, including TUDN | ViX (USA-Spanish), Fox Sports | Tubi (USA-English), Fox Sports (Mexico), OneSoccer (Canada), ESPN (Central America, Caribbean, and South America), and local Radio stations in Panama, Costa Rica, and Guatemala. For other territories, matches will be available on Concacaf’s Official App and YouTube channel (all subject to territory restrictions).

To determine which club will host the second leg Final of the 2023 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League, the two finalists have been ranked based on their results in the earlier rounds of the competition (wins, draws, and, if required, goal difference). After the semifinal results, the standings are as follows:Los Angeles FC (13 pts, +11 GD)Club Leon, (12 pts, +8 GD)The winner of this elite club competition will be crowned regional club champion and will represent the confederation in two FIFA Club World Cups, the 2023 edition in December, and the expanded 32-club tournament in the summer of 2025. The current SCCL champion is Seattle Sounders FC.

New Format From 2024 

From 2024 onwards, the SCCL will be replaced by an expanded 27-club Concacaf Champions League. The Confederation-wide competition will include five rounds (Round One, Round of 16, Quarterfinals, Semifinals, and Final) and will continue to be played in a direct elimination format. 

Furthermore, the Scotiabank Concacaf League will be replaced by three regional cup competitions – Leagues Cup, Central American Cup, and Caribbean Cup, that will be played in the fall of each year. These three new cups will qualify clubs for the expanded Champions League.
Copyright © 2022 Concacaf, All rights reserved.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About ieyenews

Speak Your Mind