January 20, 2022

Registration for Cayman Islands Government Schools now open

Pin It

2341f9e1c82ee327691d8536eca0cadfa2016674-300x217From Cayman Islands Department of Education Services

The registration for students enrolling in, or transferring to, government schools for the 2016/2017 school year will open on Tuesday 29th March, 2016 and registration will close on Friday 24th June, 2016.

Registration for Government Reception is open for qualifying children aged 4 Years 0 months before 1st September 2016. That means a child born between 1st September 2011 and 31st August 2012 is eligible for reception, and that he/she must have already turned 4 prior to 1st September, 2016.

The government schools that have reception classes are Sir John A. Cumber Primary School; George Town Primary School; Prospect Primary School; Savannah Primary School; Bodden Town Primary School; North Side Primary School and East End Primary School on Grand Cayman, and West End Primary School and Creek Primary School on Cayman Brac.

Registration for Year 1 in government schools is open for qualifying children aged 5 years 0 months before 1st September 2016. That means a child born between 1st September 2010 and 31st August 2011 is eligible for Year 1, and that he/she must have already turned 5 prior to 1st September, 2016.

Registration for older students transferring internally, re-entering or entering for the first time into the government school system should be completed by the 24th June deadline in order for the child to be eligible to attend school at the start of the school year.

Registration will take place at the Department of Education Services (Grand Cayman) and the Cayman Brac Teacher’s Centre (Cayman Brac/Little Cayman). Parents may pick up registration forms at government schools, the Department of Education Services, at 130 Thomas Russell Way, George Town; the Cayman Brac Teacher’s Centre on Cayman Brac or download from www.des.edu.ky.


When the form has been completed, it must be returned to the Department of Education Services or the Cayman Brac Teacher’s Centre, with a copy of the following documents attached:
• The child’s birth certificate
• The child’s immunization card (In the case of non-compliance with immunization due to health or religious reasons, the parent must complete a DES immunization exempt form.
• Documentation of child’s immigration residency category ( Non-Caymanian students i.e. birth certificate, passport, status letter/certificate, RS 101 form)
• Proof of address is (mandatory) street name, house/apartment number, block number. Proof in the form of a utility bill (CUC or water), notarized lease or notarized “Parent Affidavit Form” accompanied by a utility bill, CUC, water, cable, telephone, Driver’s License or Voter ID in the parent’s name or landlord’s name if renting, or if more than one family shares a living space and there is only one owner/lease holder.
• The last school year’s report (if the child is transferring from another school including private schools local and overseas). In the case of transfer to John Gray High School or Clifton Hunter High School, a transcript from the last high school should be included.

The Department of Education Services customer service staff will check the documentation and determine the designated catchment area for the school assignment. Following approval by the senior school improvement officer, the school secretary will make an appointment for a medical examination with the public health nurse. Parents can arrange for an examination from a private doctor. The medical examination must be completed before a child is enrolled.

Remember enroll as soon as possible to ensure that your qualifying child has a place at your local school in September. CHILDREN REGISTERING AFTER 24th JUNE CANNOT BE GUARANTEED SPACE at their nearest school. Parents will receive notification from the school of their child’s placement for September.

Entry to government schools
Priority for admission to government schools is assigned as follows:

1. Caymanians, with proof established by birth certificate, passport or status certificate
2. Dependents of Caymanians
3. Dependents of contracted government employees (where space is available following the close of registration)
4. Dependents of permanent residents (where space is available following the close of registration as per DES/MEEGA approved quota 2015/16)

Class sizes are capped for reception and Year 1 at 24 students and 28 for all other year groups. Where maximum class sizes are exceeded within the school, spaces will be offered for qualifying students at the nearest school with available space. Spaces for categories 3 and 4 above will be reviewed following the 24th June closure of registration.

Payment of Fees:

All non-Caymanian students under approved categories must pay school fees at the following rates:

* Year 1-6 CI$250.00 per term or CI$750.00 per year
* Year 7-9 CI$300.00 per term or CI$900.00 per year
* Year 10-12 CI$400.00 per term or CI$1,200.00 per year

Payment sites are as follows:

• Cayman Brac/ Little Cayman residents: Cayman Brac Teachers Centre, Cayman Brac
• Grand Cayman residents: First Floor, Government Administration Building, Treasury Counter.

The catchment area for government primary schools:


WEST BAY PRIMARY North of Government House to Spanish Bay Reef to include all of West Bay.

GEORGE TOWN PRIMARY South of Government House to Memorial Avenue, north along Walkers Road to Maple Road and east along Smith Road to Crewe Road airport junction. North on Airport Road, through the new junction in Industrial Park to include all areas north and east past the airport to North Sound

RED BAY PRIMARY Area on south side of Memorial Avenue, along Walkers Road to Maple Road and south side of Smith Road, both sides of Crewe Road bordered by Owen Robert Drive to the north and South Sound to the South Sound Border on the east side of Victory Avenue.

PROSPECT PRIMARY All areas from Prospect Drive eastward to west side of Spotts-Newlands Road and west side of Chime Street on the Bypass/East-West Arterial (to include all of Prospect Park, Patrick’s Island, Ocean Club, Mariners Cove, Cascades Drive.

SAVANNAH PRIMARY The east side of Spotts-Newlands Road to Beach Bay Road in Pedro including Greater Pedro area.

BODDEN TOWN PRIMARY East of Beach Bay Road up to Breakers including Northward.

NORTH SIDE PRIMARY All of Frank Sound to Old Man Bay west to Cayman Kai

EAST END PRIMARY East of the Frank Sound junction to include all of East End to Colliers.


WEST END PRIMARY West End of Cayman Brac to Faith Hospital on north side of the island and correspondingly across the island to the south coast

JUNIOR SCHOOL All areas east of Faith Hospital to the eastern end of Cayman Brac

EDUCATION SERVICE All areas of Little Cayman

The catchment area for government secondary schools:

JOHN GRAY HIGH SCHOOL All areas west wide of Spotts-Newlands Road & west side of Chime street
Bypass East-West Arterial

CLINTON HUNTER HIGH SCHOOL All areas east side of Spotts-Newlands Road & east side of Chime
Street Bypass East/West Arterial

LAYMAN SCOTT HIGH SCHOOL All areas of Cayman Brac & Little Cayman

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About ieyenews

Speak Your Mind