December 5, 2020

No shocks as Wolves clinch title

Pin It

The Wolves team

Saturday’s under-19 basketball awards highlighted championship efforts of the green-clad Wolves and red-uniformed women’s victors Monarchs, while marking superb performances from second-place finishers Shockwave and Sparks.

Staged at UCCI’s Vassal Johnson Hall, the Saturday-night women’s finals and awards ceremonies highlighted a long season of training and competition for coaches and players alike.

Awarded by Wolves President Pelo Jovane, the team walked away with awards for both coach of the year, Trini Whittaker, and for player Peter Grant, MVP for both the league and the 67:53 Wednesday-night finals at the Cox courts.

Shockwave’s Philip Webb won for rebounding, while teammate Dominic Martucci took was named rookie of the year.

Left: Pelo Jovane and coach Trini Whittaker

In the women’s final, just prior to the award ceremony, April Ebanks led Monarchs to a hard-won 62:53 triumph over the La-Torae Nixon-led Sparks.

After the game, Ms Ebanks won trophies for MVP and for most improved player during the course of the year.

The gathering was dominated, however, by Ms Nixon, who, according to leag

ue table official Angela O’Garro “is an excellent athlete, and could easily take her place among the boys”.

Winning for most points, best defensive player best rebounding and MVP for the season, Ms Nixon and her team only fell 10 points shy of the championship because “she just couldn’t do any more. She was under just too much of a strain,” said Ms O’Garro.


The winning girls team: Monarchs, who beat Sparks

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Speak Your Mind