September 27, 2020

New Cayman Islands police officers graduate


Pin It

Group 2The Royal Cayman Islands Police Service welcomed eight men and four women as its newest police officers at a graduation ceremony late last week.

At the event, which followed 16 weeks of intensive training, the young officers presented their first salute and march past before Her Excellency the Governor, Helen Governor Kristoff PowellKilpatrick at the Harquail Theatre on Thursday, 17 July 2014.

Inside the auditorium, they received their certificates. Some also picked up special awards for their achievements, in front of families, friends and other guests.

The class, the first complement of all locally chosen recruits, consisted of: Police Constables Gregory Banks, Jr., Sarah Joy Bodden, Kishna Burke, Kadane Hall, Craig-Anthony Jervis, Zachary McLaughlin, Kristoff Powell, Andre Savoury, Patricia Sevik, Andrae Strachan, Maxwell Thomas and Nassaria Thompson.

Awardees were: PC Powell who was judged Best Overall Recruit; PC McLaughlin, named Best Academic Student; and PC Bodden who earned the .

Praising their hard work and commitment, the Governor commented: “Your dedication to helping to reduce the burden of crime on the people DC Ennis Zachary McLaughlinof the Cayman Islands is admirable and I encourage you to take pride in your purpose as a police officer.” The Governor also welcomed the presence of women among the new graduates. She further recalled being delighted when hearing about the recruitment drive in October last year because “all organisations need to recruit and train new staff to benefit from fresh ideas and renewed motivation.”

, OBE, highlighted the rigorous training and the sanctity of the oath of office that the graduates took upon completion of their course.

“The simplicity of the oath is that it has no exceptions or qualification. It is a commitment DG Sarah Joy Boddento serve all, regardless of status, nationality or gender, to one standard and to do so to the best of their ability,” Mr. Baines underscored.

Noting that these police officers come from the same community they serve, he urged them to guard the Cayman Islands’ public without fear or favour while always displaying humanity and caring in the manner in which they engage with the people.

The recruitment campaign targeting those between 18 and 30 years, launched on 1 October 2013, and attracted over 500 applicants. This was sifted down to 200 candidates, based on recruitment criteria. The final 12 were then selected through written Commiss PC Jervisexams, physical tests, presentations and interviews, the audience heard.

Trainer and master of ceremonies PC Halston Farley noted that in addition to four weeks of relevant practical training, the new officers would continue to learn as part of a two-year probationary period. “Your journey has just begun; continue to abide by your promise to the organization and your communities at large. Learning has not ceased just because you have completed your training,” he told the graduates.

Expressing appreciation on behalf of his fellow graduates for all the training opportunities, including team-building exercises, PC Thompson said the group was now better equipped for their police duties, and had received “invaluable life lessons moving forward”, as well as advanced their self-knowledge.

Governor Kristoff Powell She said they were particularly grateful to their trainers: Sergeant Andrew Harrison (head); PCs John Rowell, Roje Williams, Gabe Rabess, Halston Farley (also drill instructor) and Senior PC Paulette Hines, with 15 other officers also providing individual lessons.

Photo captions: Photos by Bina Mani(GIS)

Photo 1: Class I of 2014 of police graduates with Commissioner David Baines, Deputy Commissioner Anthony Ennis and their tutors

Photo 2: PC Kristoff Powell receives Best Overall Recruit award from the Governor, Mrs. , CB.

Photo 3: PC Zachary McLaughlin receives the Best Academic Student award from Deputy Commissioner Anthony Ennis.

Photo 4: PC Sarah Joy Bodden receives the Team Spirit Award from Deputy Governor Hon. Franz Manderson, Cert. Hon, JP.

Commissioner Kadane HallPhoto 5: PC Craig-Anthony Jervis receives his graduation certificate from Commissioner David Baines.

Photo 6: Commissioner David Baines presents the graduation certificate to Constable Kadane Hall.

Photo 7: Led by PC Andrew Stewart, the graduates march past before the Governor, Mrs. Helen Kilpatrick, Commissioner David Baines and Aide-de-Camp, Inspector Ian Yearwood.

Photo 8: Governor Kilpatrick inspects the guard of honour presented by the graduates, in the company of Commissioner David Baines, Aide-de-Camp Inspector Ian Yearwood and Parade Commander PC Andrew Stewart.


March past 2Governor inspects

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About ieyenews

Speak Your Mind