May 11, 2021

Guyana: Caribbean vocational qualification set for 11 secondary schools starting September

Pin It

From Stabroek News

Floyd Scott (Ministry of Education photo)

The Caribbean Vocational Qualification (CVQ) will be piloted in 11 schools starting September 2019, according to a release on Monday from the Ministry of Education.

The Ministry says it is collaborating with the Caribbean Examinations Council (CXC) on the implementation of the CVQ within the secondary schools: Canje Secondary, Aurora Secondary, New Bartica Secondary, Paramakatoi Secondary, BV Practical Instruction Centre, Parika Salem Secondary, Dolphin Secondary, Belladrum, Linden Foundation Secondary, St. Ignatius Secondary and North West Secondary school.

At the launch of the Pre-Stakeholder meeting for the Piloting of the CVQ in Guyana on Monday at the Umana Yana, the Minister of Education, Dr  Nicolette Henry, said that the implementation of CVQ in secondary schools is guided by the Regional Technical Vocational Education and Training in secondary schools. The release said that it is aimed at providing opportunities for secondary school students to exit with at least one skill certificate.

For more on this story go to:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About ieyenews

Speak Your Mind