January 27, 2022

Global Commission to launch landmark Future of Work report

Pin It

GENEVA (ILO News) – The Global Commission on the Future of Work  will launch its report at the ILO headquarters in Geneva on Tuesday 22 January, marking the start of the Organization’s Centenary celebrations. 

The report will be officially released at 10:00 GMT (11:00 Geneva time). There will be an embargoed briefing for journalists at 08:00 GMT (09:00 Geneva time) at ILO headquarters in Geneva. 

The report provides an in-depth and analytical examination of the future of work that can provide a basis for the delivery of social justice in the 21st century. 

It outlines the steps needed to create a better future of work for all, at a time of unprecedented change and exceptional challenges for the world of work. 

The 27-member independent Global Commission on the Future of Work – co-chaired by South African President, Cyril Ramaphosa and Swedish Prime Minister, Stefan Löfven – has been working on the report since August 2017. In the preceding 18 months the ILO’s tripartite constituents – governments, employers’ and workers’ organizations – held national dialogues in more than 110 countries. The outcomes of these dialogues fed into the report. 

The report and the consultations are part of a Future of Work Initiative  launched by ILO Director-General Guy Ryder in 2013, to understand and respond effectively to new challenges in the world of work. 

Following the launch of the report a ceremony will be held to mark the start of the ILO’s Centenary  celebrations. 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About ieyenews

Speak Your Mind

*