October 24, 2020

Dressage riders impress US judge


Pin It

By Pamela Fowler From CIEF

Cayman Islands Dressage Riders Impress US Judge

Cayman Islands Equestrian Federation (“CIEF”) welcomed US Dressage Judge, Luis Denizard to Cayman recently to judge the first show in the 2015/16 National Dressage Series.

Mr Denizard was visiting Cayman for the first time and was impressed with Cayman’s dressage talent. He judged a series of tests at a two-venue show held at the Equestrian Center and Cayman Riding School. Scores taken from four shows held over the course of the season are added together to determine Champions and Reserve Champions for each division.

Making their debut at the Equestrian Center, Kate Flett and Jessica McTaggart-Giuzio’s horse, Loris, rode USEF Third Level Test 3 well, scoring 63.59%. Flett is a visiting trainer from Florida, who is substituting for McTaggart-Giuzio at the EC while she is on maternity leave. The combination rode a difficult test well despite having been together for only a few Tracey Surrey and Dustymonths.


Megan Swartz and Patrick won the overall Children’s High Point Award after scoring 68.70% in the Training Level Test 1. This was a great win for the pair and the first time Swartz has won a high point award.

In the beginner classes, Lara Humphries returned to the ring with her horse, Storm, after the horse underwent surgery and an intense period of recovery over the summer. The pair were fantastic and won both the USDF B and C Test Classes, making their comeback especially sweet.

Wendy Zhang and Judge Luis DenizardAt Cayman Riding School, trainer Tracey Surrey and her horse, Dusty, dazzled spectators by winning the overall Adult High Point Award in the USEF First Level Test 3 with a score of 68.125%.

In addition, Wendy Zhang made her debut in dressage with her Cayman pony, Austin, winning the Adult USEF Training Level Test 1 with 64.3478%.

Other highlights at the venues included debuts in the dressage ring by new pairings Amara Thompson and Second Kiss, Jenna Boucher and Edson Arantes MB, Ashley van den Bol and Whindlass, Chloe Fowler and Will to Win, Eva Hepburn and Rolex, Olivia Klyver and Shirley Temple and Jennifer Cowdroy and Monroe Carr.

Full results are available on CIEF’s website at:


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Speak Your Mind