iLocal News Archives

Concacaf confirms procedures for 2022/23 Concacaf Nations League presented by Qatar Airways draw

Draw for Group Stage of 2022/23 CNL will take place on April 4 in Miami at 7:00 pm ET. Pots confirmed following the conclusion of the FIFA Men’s International Window of March 2022Group stage to serve as the qualifier for the 2023 Gold CupMiami, FL – Concacaf has confirmed the procedures and pots for the 2022/23 Concacaf Nations League (CNL) official draw. The live TV event, which will sub-divide Leagues A, B, and C into groups, will take place on April 4, in Miami, FL at 7:00 pm ET.

Fans will be able to follow all the action through the Confederation’s partner networks, including CBS/Paramount + (USA-Eng), Univision/TUDN (USA-Spa), OneSoccer (CAN), Televisa (MEX), regional partners in Central America, and the Caribbean, and the Concacaf Official App (subject to territory restrictions). 

The 2022/23 CNL Group Stage will continue to be played in a three League format, with home and away round robin play on the FIFA Match Windows of June 2022 (double window) and March 2023. The Group Stage will be followed by the Concacaf Nations League Finals presented by Qatar Airways (CNLF) in June 2023 and will consist of semifinals, third place match, and final.

The distribution of teams for Leagues A, B, and C has been determined based on the results of the 2019 CNL Group Stage (available below), including a promotion and relegation system (the bottom team in each group relegated and the top team in each group promoted).

League A (12 teams): Canada, Costa Rica, Curaçao, El Salvador (promoted), Grenada (promoted), Honduras, Jamaica (promoted), Martinique, Mexico, Panama, Suriname (promoted), and the United States.

League B (16 teams): Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas (promoted), Barbados (promoted), Belize, Bermuda (relegated), Cuba (relegated), Dominican Republic, French Guiana, Guadeloupe (promoted), Guatemala (promoted), Guyana, Haiti (relegated), Montserrat, Nicaragua, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and Trinidad and Tobago (relegated).

League C (13 teams): Anguilla, Aruba (relegated), Bonaire, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica (relegated), Puerto Rico, Saint Kitts and Nevis (relegated), Saint Lucia (relegated), Saint Martin, Sint Maarten, Turks and Caicos Islands, and U.S. Virgin Islands.

Draw procedures
On April 4, the Confederation will conduct a draw for each League. The draws will be executed using a single blind system involving three pots for League A, four pots for League B, and three Pots for League C.

All 41 Concacaf Member Associations have been allocated in a League pot based on their Concacaf Ranking (available here) following the conclusion of the FIFA Men’s International Window of March 2022. 

The pots for each League are as follows (listed in ranking order per Pot):

League A
Pot 1: Mexico, United States, Canada, Costa Rica
Pot 2: Panama, Jamaica, El Salvador, Honduras
Pot 3: Martinique, Curaçao, Suriname, Grenada

League B
Pot 1: Haiti, Guatemala, Trinidad and Tobago, Cuba
Pot 2: French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Nicaragua, Bermuda
Pot 3: Antigua and Barbuda, Guyana, Dominican Republic, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Pot 4: Belize, Montserrat, Barbados, Bahamas

League C
Pot 1: Saint Kitts and Nevis, Puerto Rico, Bonaire, Saint Lucia
Pot 2: Dominica, Aruba, Cayman Islands, Turks and Caicos Islands
Pot 3: Saint Martin, Sint Maarten, US Virgin Islands, Anguilla, British Virgin Islands

The draw for each league will begin by randomly selecting a team from Pot 1 and placing them in Group A of their respective league. The draws will continue by selecting the remaining teams from Pot 1 and positioning them into Groups B, C, and D in sequential order. The same process will be done for the remaining pots.

2023 Gold Cup Qualification 
Concacaf has also confirmed that the 2022/23 CNL Group Stage will serve as the qualifier for the 2023 Gold Cup. Following round robin play, the League A group winners and runners up (eight teams) and the League B group winners (four teams) will guarantee their participation in the 17th edition of the Gold Cup.

Furthermore, 12 other teams will have an opportunity to qualify for the tournament via the Gold Cup Prelims. The Prelims will include the participation of the League A third-place finishers (four teams), the League B second place finishers (four teams), and the League C group winners (four teams). Additional details regarding the 2023 Gold Cup Prelims will be announced at a later date.

About the Concacaf Nations League
Concacaf launched the region’s men’s Nations League in March 2018, with the aim of ensuring all Member Associations have the opportunity to compete in more official matches, driving the development of the game and providing a compelling tournament for fans in all parts of the Confederation.

The inaugural CNL kicked off in September 2019 and culminated after one-hundred-and-two memorable group stage matches. The four League A Group winners (Costa Rica, Honduras, Mexico, and USA) took part in the 2021 CNLF in Denver, CO, where Mexico and the United States faced off in an unforgettable Final. An extra time penalty conversion by US forward Christian Pulisic proved to be the decisive moment and served as the winning goal in the 3-2 victory for the United States, who was crowned as the first CNL champion.

To view the best moments of the inaugural CNL, click here


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *