September 21, 2023

Celebrating the Queen’s Birthday

Pin It

The public, government officials and award recipients will gather in front of the Legislative Assembly to officially celebrate Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II’s 86th birthday, this Saturday, 16 June.

Members of the public are invited to attend the 9:00 a.m. ceremony, but persons who have received official invitations must be seated by 8:30 a.m.

This year, three previously announced awardees will be honoured by His Excellency the Governor, Mr. Duncan Taylor, CBE.  Mr. Adeniyi Oremule will be presented with the Colonial Police Medal (for Meritorious Service); and Mrs. Ella Kaye Lockwood and Mrs. Anita Wheaton will  receive their Cayman Islands Certificates and Badges of Honour.

Immediately following, the Governor will bestow the Duke of Edinburgh’s Gold Award on six recipients: Christopher Clarke, David Mitchell, Paul Palmer, Jossannah Smith, Adeline Sully, and Ryan Whittaker.

Then the Hon. Deputy Governor, Mr. Franz Manderson, Cert. Hon., JP will announce the 2012 Queen’s birthday honour recipients.

During the ceremony, there will be a prayer by Reverend Stanwyck Myles, Cert. Hon. and the national song, Beloved Isle Cayman, will be sung by Ms Mona L. Tatum-Watler, accompanied by the Royal Cayman Islands Police Band.

Upon arrival, the Hon. Premier, Mr. W. McKeeva Bush, OBE, JP, will receive a general salute. The customary parade comprising contingents from the Royal Cayman Islands Police Service, the Fire Service, HM Prison Service, the Girls Brigade, the Scouts and Cub Scouts, the Veterans and the Cadet Corps will be formed and inspected by His Excellency the Governor.

Following the march past, the Royal Salute will be offered and God Save the Queen will be played. Then the 21-gun salute and three cheers will be offered for Her Majesty.

The Queen’s Birthday Celebration is coordinated by the Cayman Islands Protocol Office.

PARTICIPANTS:         His Excellency the Governor, Mr. Duncan Taylor, CBE

The Honourable Premier, Mr. W. McKeeva Bush, OBE, JP

The Hon. Deputy Governor Mr. Franz Manderson, Cert. Hon. JP

Honours and Awards Recipients

Duke of Edinburgh’s Gold Award Recipients

Contingents Representing Uniformed Services



Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Speak Your Mind