August 5, 2021

Cayman to take on Jamaica in cricket final

Pin It

Cayman and Jamaica dominated the semifinals of the Challenge Trophy T/20 competitions and are set to meet on Sunday in what we expect will be a display of the stars. Cayman youngsters Zachary

Cayman’s Zachary who scored 51 against the World Stars

McLaughlin 51 and Omar Willis 34 provided the team with a solid foundation before Kervin Ebanks 19 and Ramon Sealy 16n.o pushed their total to a respected 145 for 5 wickets. Basil Legore 3 for 16 was the World Stars leading bowler.

An emphatic bowling display from Marlon Bryan, Kervin Ebanks, Ricardo Roach and Gregory Smith contained the free scoring World Stars. A late charge from Nigel Strough 40 and Basil Legore 27n.o was not enough. Cayman won by 28 runs.

Jamaica is on a role and made no mistake booking their passage to the final by running over Guyana. Batting first Guyana was restricted to 129 runs. Nan Budhram 38 and Mahendra Sanichar 31 were the main batsmen while Ladel Farquharson and Alessandro Morris took 2 wickets each for Jamaica. In form batsman Ainsley Hall 53 and twenties from Conroy Wright and Garth Bryan showed the depth of the Jamaica team. Jamaica won by 7 wickets.

Will the young Cayman team lead by Abali Hoilett and which includes CICA Cricketer of the Year Kervin Ebanks be able to match the hitting power of Ladel Farquharson and Ainsley Hall of the Jamaica team? All questions will be answered on Sunday as the curtains come down on another fantastic year of cricket in the Caymans Islands. 10.30am start! You cannot miss a ball.



CAYMAN – 145 FOR 5

Zachary McLaughlin 51, Omar Willis 34, Kervin Ebanks 19, Ramon Sealy 16n.o

Basil Legore 3 for 16

WORLD STARS – 115 for 7

Nigel Strough 40, Basil Legore 27n.o

Ricardo Roach 3 for 13, Sacha De Alwis 2 for 18

CAYMAN won by 28 runs


GUYANA – 129

Nan Budhram 38, Mahendra Sanichar 31

Ladel Farquharson 2 for 10, Alessandro Morris 2 for 23


JAMAICA – 130 for 3

Ainsley Hall 53, Garth Bryan 24n.o, Conroy Wright 22

Kevin Bazil 2 for 16

Jamaica’s Ainsley Hall who scored 53 against Guyana









JAMAICA won by 7 wickets


Sun 18th Dec  

  • WORLD STARS vs GUYANA       SRO    10.30am
  • CAYMAN vs JAMAICA                 SRO      2.00pm


CAYMAN                                          JAMAICA

ABALI HOILETT                              AINSLEY HALL

SACHA DE ALWIS                          UGAL SICARD

OMAR WILLIS                                 WAYNE CATO

KERVIN EBANKS                            KENEEK BECKFORD

STEVE GORDON                             ALESSANDRO MORRIS

MARLON BRYAN                            CONROY WRIGHT

TROY TAYLOR                                 LADEL FARQUHARSON

RONALD EBANKS                          GARTH BRYAN

RICARDO ROACH                           DAVE HOLNESS

VINCENT EBANKS                          CARLTON WEST

RAMON SEALY                                 VICTOR CAMPBELL



Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Speak Your Mind