June 27, 2022

Cayman Prep A to play St Ignatius in the final

Pin It

2022 Inter-Primary Cricket Competition Weekly Review

Action from the Sir John A. Cumber Primary (batting) vs. Cayman Prep A game.

The seventh and final round of games in the 2022 Inter-Primary Cricket Competition were played on Friday, June 17, with schools jostling for final positions in Zone A.

St. Ignatius Catholic defeated Cayman Prep B 85 runs to 84 runs to capture first place in in Zone A with a perfect record of six wins out of six. Despite the loss, Cayman Prep B and East End Primary finished the regular season in second place tied on points following East End Primary’s win over Edna Moyle Primary through a forfeit. Cayman Prep B will play East End Primary on Tuesday, June 21 to decide which school will play in the third-place game. The game between Joanna Clarke Primary vs. Prospect Primary was postponed and Theoline L. McCoy Primary were not scheduled to play.

St. Ignatius Catholic will play Zone B champions Cayman Prep A in the championship game and either Cayman Prep B or East End Primary will face Zone B runners-up George Town Primary in the third-place game.

Regular season games in Zone B were completed on Thursday, June 9 with Cayman Prep A topping the group with five wins out of five and George Town Primary securing the runners-up spot with four wins and one loss.

The 2022 regular season concludes on Thursday, June 23 with the third-place game between Cayman Prep B or East End Primary vs. George Town Primary and on Friday, June 24, St. Ignatius Catholic will take on defending champions Cayman Prep A in the final to crown the 2022 champions. Both games are scheduled for 1:00 p.m. at the Annex Field.

The Inter-Primary Cricket Competition is organised and coordinated by the Department of Education Services and the Department of Sports and sponsored by CUC and the Cayman Cricket Association.

Parents and supporters are encouraged to come out and support our young cricketers on Thursday and Friday in the third-place and final games.

Final standings in Zone A and Zone B:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About ieyenews

Speak Your Mind