September 17, 2021

Cayman Islands Prospect Community Group appoints new executive team

Pin It

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands, (8 February, 2017) At its first meeting for 2017, the Prospect Community Group announced the appointment of six officers elected to serve on the Executive Committee for a period of one year, commencing January 2017.

The new Executive Committee members are:

  • Chairperson: Mrs. Sabrina Turner (former Deputy Chair)
  • Deputy Chair: Mr. Mark Rickman
  • Secretary: Mrs. Gaye Marie Smith
  • Deputy Secretary: Ms. Marilyn Conolly
  • Treasurer: Ms. Kara Coe
  • Deputy Treasurer: Mrs. Des Ebanks

The Prospect Community Group is made up of residents from the local area who have come together on a voluntary basis to make a positive difference in the community and provide assistance where possible to local residents in need. Formerly under the leadership of Mrs. Carmen Mc Field, the group has spearheaded a number of community initiatives, including area beautification and removal of derelict vehicles, gift-giving to children at Christmas and they also held a fish-fry in collaboration with the Cayman Islands Red Cross.

I am sure I speak on behalf of most if not all residents in Prospect when I say we love where we live and on that basis I am honoured to Chair our community group’s Executive Committee,” said Mrs. Sabrina Turner. “As residents, it is in our interest to work together to keep Prospect as a safe, peaceful and welcoming community that looks out for each other and takes care of our neighbourhood. We are grateful to Mrs. McField for the great job she has done and I look forward to continuing the momentum and working closely with the Executive team and residents to bring about improvements in our area.”

Mr. Mark Rickman, Deputy Chair added, “As well as being an active community group, over 43 residents recently received training from the Hazard Management Council in order to establish a Community Emergency Response Team (CERT) in the Prospect area. This has greatly increased our resilience and level of disaster preparedness. More importantly, it means that in the event of a natural disaster or other hazard affecting the area, our CERT team can quickly mobilise, assess damage and report to the Hazard Management unit. Depending on the circumstance, if outside assistance cannot reach us in a hurry, it is important to have a CERT team that can fill in to help residents till help arrives.”

The Prospect Community Group meets on the first Monday of the month at 7pm at the Seafarers Hall and all residents are encouraged to attend. From time to time, representatives from the RCIPS, Department of Environmental Health, Elections Office and other organisations have been invited to provide information or updates on relevant issues.

The monthly meetings are a great way to meet other people in the neighbourhood and provide an opportunity to openly discuss ideas or concerns, said Mrs. Turner. “In addition, there is an email address for contacting the Executive Committee, as well as a Facebook page for sharing news and information more widely. I encourage everyone to like our page and follow us to keep abreast of the happenings in our area.”

Prospect is one of the largest communities in George Town and I really hope we will see more people coming out to the meetings and playing an active role in improving the community in which we all live, continued Mrs. Turner. “While there is a committee that is trying to do its best to uplift the area, we cannot do it alone and are dependent on support and assistance from residents.”

To contact the Prospect Community Executive Committee please send email to [email protected] or like us on Facebook at Prospect Community Facebook Page

Photo Caption: Prospect Executive Committee Officers (L-R) Gaye Marie Smith, Des Ebanks, Chair: Sabrina Turner, Deputy Chair Mark Rickman, Donald Bennie Moore (Committee Member), Kara Coe, Marilyn Conolly.(missing from photo Gina Matthews).
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About ieyenews

Speak Your Mind