August 4, 2020

Cayman Islands conservation awards presented


Pin It

Gov Katrina Panton award 1 Swanky awardedTwo individuals, one popular local band and two dive operators walked away with this year’s prestigious Governor’s Conservation Awards, organised by the National Trust of the Cayman Islands.

Mr. Cody Panton, currently studying Marine Biology at the University of Tampa, bagged the Lois Blumenthal Youth Conservationist Award. Meanwhile, Ms Katrina Jurn, Ph.D. is the Conservationist of the Year. The Heritage Preservation Award, sponsored by , went to the . Compass Point Dive Resort won the Tourism Conservation Award and Divetech Cayman Islands earned the Corporate Conservation Award.

Hosting the presentation at Government House on Wednesday, 19 November 2014, Her Excellency the Governor, commented that the short-list of finalists was impressive this year.

Additionally, the Trust recognised donors to its Land Reserve Fund, which is spearheaded by Mrs. Janet Walker.

(Photo captions: Photos by Bina Mani

Photo 1: Conservationist of the Year Katrina Jurn, Ph.D., received her award from Her Excellency the Governor, Helen Kilpatrick.

Photo 2: Mrs. Jane Panton accepts the Lois Blumenthal Youth Conservationist Award on behalf of son Cody from Department of Environment’s , Ph.D., who is Lois’ daughter.

Photo 3: Swanky Kitchen Band members received their Heritage Preservation Award sponsored by Cayman National Bank from CNB Marketing Manager, Ms Shari Whittaker.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About ieyenews

Speak Your Mind