November 29, 2020

2013 CONCACAF under-17 championship draw held in Panama

Pin It

0,,12813~7549226,0012-team event will decide confederation’s representatives to U-17 World Cup

* For the tournament schedule, please see attached.

PANAMA CITY, Panama (Tuesday, March 5, 2013) — Defending U-17 World Cup champion Mexico will face Honduras and Cuba, while host Panama will meet Barbados and Jamaica in the first round of the 2013 CONCACAF Under-17 Championship.

The tournament draw, which was held today and conducted by CONCACAF General Secretary Enrique Sanz at the Hotel Sheraton Panama, determined the first-round opponents for the April 6-19 event.

Host Panama and Mexico, by virtue of its 2011 World Cup finish, were pre-seeded into Groups A and D, respectively.

“We are very excited about this tournament, which will showcase the next generation of our Confederation’s upcoming talent,’ said CONCACAF President, Jeffrey Webb, during his opening speech.  “We wish the best of luck to all the qualified teams and hope one of the four teams representing our region at the World Cup will retain the title of World Champion.”

The top two teams from each group will advance to the quarterfinals, the winners of which will qualify for the 2013 FIFA U-17 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates, October 17-November 8.

It will be the first time Panama has staged the CONCACAF finals and the first time a 12-team CONCACAF Under-17 tournament will be held in Central America since 1994 in El Salvador.

All tournament matches will be held at the Estadio Rommel Fernandez in Panama City and the Estadio Agustin “Muquita” Sanchez in La Chorrera.

Mexico has won the CONCACAF Under-17 title a record four times, while defending champion United States captured the crown on three occasions.

2013 CONCACAF Under-17 Championship

April 6-19, 2013

at Panama (Panama City & La Chorrera)


Group A: Panama, Barbados, Jamaica

Group B: Canada, Costa Rica, Trinidad & Tobago

Group C: United States, Guatemala, Haiti

Group D: Mexico, Honduras, Cuba


CONCACAF “The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football” is one of six continental confederations of FIFA (Fédération Internationale de Football Association) and serves as the governing body of football in this part of the world. It is composed of 40 national associations, from Canada in the north to Guyana, Surinam and French Guyana in the south.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Speak Your Mind