November 24, 2020

1st Annual Screenwriters Choice Awards announced

Pin It

PrintFinal Draft, Inc., the industry standard for screenwriting software, is proud to announce the winners of the 1st Annual Screenwriters Choice Awards™ that were held Thursday night at the Paley Center for Media in Beverly Hills. Comedian and actor Jay Mohr hosted the invitation–only event that also presented industry icon Lawrence Kasdan with the Hall of Fame Award.

PrintOn hand to present the awards were Final Draft, Inc. CEO, President and Co–Founder Marc Madnick, Simon Kinberg (X–Men: First Class), Ed Saxon (Away We Go), Aline Brosh McKenna (The Devil Wears Prada) and Larry Karaszewski (The People vs. Larry Flynt). The winners were:

Best Original Screenplay:

Django Unchained – accepted by Producer Reginald Hudlin.


Best Adapted Screenplay:

Argo – accepted by Actress Kerry Bishé


Best Television Comedy:

Modern Family – accepted by Executive Producer Danny Zuker


Best Television Drama:

Breaking Bad – accepted by Series Creator Vincent Gilligan


The Screenwriters Choice Awards nominees were chosen by a blue ribbon, industry–led committee who submitted their picks for the four mentioned categories. The top ten nominations from each category were then submitted to Final Draft™ registered users, resulting in final five nominees in each category.



PrintIn addition to the Screenwriters Choice Awards, Final Draft, Inc. inducted legendary writer, producer and director Lawrence Kasdan into its Hall of Fame. Fellow screenwriter Ted Griffin (Ocean’s Eleven, Terriers), along with Simon Kinberg, Aline Brosh McKenna and surprise guest John Lee Hancock (The Blind Side), gave moving tributes to Kasdan and presented him with the Hall of Fame Award.

Kasdan has written or co-written four of the most successful films in motion picture history — Raiders of The Lost Ark, The Empire Strikes Back, Return of The Jedi and The Bodyguard. He is also credited with the classic films Body Heat, The Big Chill, Silverado, The Accidental Tourist, Printand Grand Canyon, among others. Past Hall of Fame Award winners include Aaron Sorkin, Steve Zaillian, Oliver Stone, Syd Field, Robert Towne, and the late Stephen J. Cannell and Sydney Pollack.

Final Draft, Inc. also named the top three winners from the 13th annual Big Break™ International Screenwriting Contest. The Big Break Contest supports emerging creative talent and reinforces the Final Draft, Inc. mission to advance and provide industry access to writers around the world. The Big Break Contest rewards screenwriters with over $30,000 in cash and prizes plus entrée to A–list executive meetings. Past winners and finalists have secured high–profile representation as well as lucrative writing deals, and have had their screenplays optioned and produced.

PrintThe winners were:

1st Place – Craig Houchin from Sunland, CA

Ludlow (Drama)

2nd Place – April Rouveyrol from Glendale, CA

Life Copy (Sci–fi)

3rd Place – Matthew Snyman from Watford, UK

The Whaler’s Daughter (Drama)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Speak Your Mind