November 18, 2019

Dates and matchups set for 2015-16 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League Finals


Pin It

2015–16_CONCACAF_Champions_LeagueTigres UANL and Club America advance to final, to be played over two legs April 20 & 27

Miami (Wednesday, April 6, 2016) – The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) confirmed this morning the schedule and matchups for the 2015-16 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League Finals, to be played in home-and-away format on April 20 and 27.

The grand final of the Champions League, which began with 24 teams in August of 2015, will feature Liga MX sides Club America and Tigres UANL. The finalists emerged from two closely disputed semifinal matchups which culminated on Tuesday evening. After the first leg of both matches ended in a scoreless tie, a pair of late goals by Andre-Pierre Gignac lifted Tigres to a 2-0 victory over visiting Queretaro, while Club America defeated Santos Laguna 1-0 in extra time.

The Finals kick off in two weeks’ time, on Wednesday, April 20, when Tigres UANL host Club America in the Estadio Universitario in Monterrey.

The 2015-16 Champion will be determined a week later in , on April 27 at 9:45 ET, at the historic Estadio Azteca. The winner of the 2015-16 CONCACAF Champions earns the prized ticket to the FIFA Club World Cup Japan 2016.

The Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League is the region’s most important club championship, disputed among the club champions of leagues from around the CONCACAF region. The tournament begins with a group phase, followed by a three-round knockout phase.

To view the complete, updated schedule please click here.

*ET (local time)

Wednesday, April 20, 2016 – 1st
9:45 PM (8:45 PM) Tigres UANL vs. Club America – Estadio Universitario, Monterrey, Mexico

Wednesday, April 27, 2016 – 2nd Leg Final
9:45 PM (8:45 PM) – Club America vs. Tigres UANL – Estadio Azteca, Mexico City, Mexico

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About ieyenews

Speak Your Mind